Could Workouts Be This Simple?

Posted: November 30, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

To order DUFFY TO THE RESCUE here!
[tweetmeme source=”schrecktom”https://tomschreck.wordpress.com/]

Delicious
Bookmark this on Delicious

Share/Bookmark

To order a Duffy book, click on one of the covers to the left.

I read a very interesting article in Men’s Journal this month. It said that men, particularly men in their 40’s, should be emphasizing weight training above all else.

They also said that you only needed to do three exercises…for the rest of your life. The exercises are the squat, the dead lift and the bench press.

I love the elegant simplicity of it.

Is it too good to be true?

Read it here and give your opinion.

Comments
  1. Jen Forbus says:

    This article didn’t sound like they were saying that’s all you do. I would never endorse a program that didn’t allow for regular cardiovascular exercise. I don’t care how buff you look, if you aren’t taking care of your heart and making your cardiovascular system efficient at delivery oxygen to the cells, it’s all pointless.

    And by the by…excessive muscle mass is unattractive.

  2. BD says:

    Interesting for sure! Thank you for that. I need to Simplify, Simplify, Simplify and the more I hear that message the better!

    Just yesterday, I saw a similar article that also smacked me in between the two soggy flapjacks I pretend are pecs. (http://chadwaterbury.com/full-body-training-part-1/)

    As is my m.o. — I spend time and effort on the periphery rather than on the meat’n potatoes. ie single-leg Romanian dead lifts on a BoSu ball. (I don’t really do them on a BoSu…..)

    I can’t hear it often enough– “Shut Up’n Play Yer Guitar.”

    …or in this case, “stick with an upper body pull, an upper body push, plus a squat, deadlift or lunge for those bird legs of yours.”

    Thanks, Tom.

    p.s. I’m still not giving up my blindfolded burpees holding a beer keg half filled with jello and sand.

  3. Graham says:

    As a person who hates to work out but has lost 30 pounds in the last 30 months, I have to say that the best workout is one you can stick to. If you don’t like it, you won’t do it. And constant weight training just sounds like a drag to me.

  4. Marcus says:

    And when you have bad knees and can’t squat, are you screwed? 🙂

    Is the three routine workout something YOU adhere to?

Leave a Reply

