[tweetmeme source=”schrecktom”https://tomschreck.wordpress.com/]

Delicious
Bookmark this on Delicious

Share/Bookmark

To order a Duffy book, click on one of the covers to the left.

WARNING: BLATANT NAME DROPPING AHEAD

For the last couple of years Ruth and John Jordan, who put out Crimespree, the best mystery magazine there is and Penny Halle, the world’s coolest librarian, invite me to Murder and Mayhem in Muskego. It’s a day long conference with about 20 mystery writers. Inexplicably, the Jordan’s and Penny like me and my books.

I drank Schlitz with this guy

A couple of years ago at the Jordan’s house party, I drank Schlitz beer and talked boxing with Dennis Lehane. He’s a real regular guy (which you should’ve deduced from the Schlitz and boxing.) He just happens to be a genius and a brilliant writer. Word is his advances are nearly double mine.

Anyway, I’m currently listening to an unabridged version of The Given Day , Lehane’s latest. It’s captivating and enthralling like his stuff always is.

It got me thinking though.

Every morning I get up, walk and feed the hounds, write and then while I’m washing up and getting dressed for the day gig, I listen to cd’s, dvds, podcasts, books on tape, etc on writing craft. I’ve committed the advice of Stephen King, Robert McKee, Syd Fields and William Zissner to memory. I’ve listened to every episode of Writing Excuses, the MWANY presentations and have read books on writing by lawrence Block, Todd Stone and Evan Marshall and compilations from Writer’s Digest.

I’ve learned to eliminate unnecessary words, go easy on symbolism, make sure each scene changes a value and make sure the plot twists every quarter. I do research but go lightly on it in my prose, I make sure my minor characters don’t outshine my major ones, I keep to 80k words and I try not to bore people with exposition.

Dennis Lehane’s “The Given Day”, is well over 80k words, he goes deep into symbolism, expounds on Babe Ruth’s history and I’m not sure what it has to do with the plot. He uses tons of extra words, seems to go on an on with exposition and I’m not sure if values change every scene or when the plot twists come.

I know I love the book–a lot.

I’m sure someone will comment and tell me I’m too dumb to recognize where Dennis does all this.

I’m also confident that if i turned in a book to an agent or publisher of that length, with that much exposition, symbolism and without predictable plot turns every quarter I’d likely get one of those patronizing notes rejecting me.

Of course, my writing isn’t as good as Dennis’s.

What’s the moral of this blog?

1. Rules can be broken

2. If you sell books like Dennis Lehane you can write however the hell you want.

ps– I’ve been dying to point something out and find anyone who gives a shit. In the opening chapter Lehane describes a pro boxing card taking place around 1917. he says that the card featured lightweights, welterweights, featherweights and cruiserweights. The cruiserweight division, however, wasn’t created until 1980. I believe I am entitled to a portion of the profits of his future earnings.

Comments
  1. D. B. Dean says:

    wait – i can break rules…

    I just learned them…sigh….who knows what important stuff was displaced in my adled brain with the rules…

    I actually think one most first learn the rules and write with in them
    Once you can work with in the rules, you can break out of them as appropriate.

    Rules are criticle for a developing writer…a safety net.

    My 6 yr old is learning the rules of gymnastics.
    two months ago he added a karate kick into his dismount which was strickly against the rules.
    He broke his left arm, both the ulna and radial bones were snapped all the way through.
    Why – he broke the rule before he had the skills to move outside of them.
    That doesnt mean one day he cant break the rules…but not yet.

    He is a bit scared of returning to the gym. I, being the loving and understanding mother that I am said…tough titties buddy…you gotta get back out there. Just this time listen to your coach and you wont get hurt…

    So to… a new writer needs the rules or they end up with crappy writing…
    once you can write well within the rules..well you can begin to move outside them as your muse, your voice dictates.

    (by the way my writing teacher told me to never ever use “…” in my writing…but seriously man….how else do I show when I am stopping to think… ya know… … (sticking my tongue out at professor with fingers in ears wiggling neener neener neener.)

Leave a Reply

