WEDNESDAY WRITING TIP: When You Don’t Feel Like It

Posted: April 21, 2010 in Uncategorized, Wednesday's Writing Tip

What do you do when you don’t feel it?

It depends on your goal.

If writing is a whimsical hobby, then, by all means, write whenever the hell you want.

If you make a living from writing you already know that you can’t afford to do that.

If your goal is to break through in any part of the writing business then, like a disciplined athlete, you have to train. That means writing when you don’t feel like it. Maybe especially when you don’t feel like it.

Writing a novel or a screenplay, maybe even a short story, is a serious undertaking. Getting it done, editing and polishing will be a pain in the ass after the cool feeling of taking the project on fades.

I love the NANOWRIMO folks. They structure the process for getting a draft done in a month. That’s kind of cool but it’s only a start. Putting a professional edit on a draft will take more and it won’t always be that inspiring. You’ll have to push long past the NANOWRIMO support ends. This isn’t a novelty.

On days I don’t feel it, I write and you know what? When I read that day’s work it is usually indistinguishable from the work I do on inspired days.

You don’t have to be committed. You don’t have to take it seriously.

But if you want to complete something and make it professional then there is a reality you have to face.

Writing is work.

Comments
  1. D.B. Dean says:

    every day i hide in the bathroom and write for as long as I can…before someone comes to find out 1)where their toy is 2) whats for dinner 3) report that their brother did somethign to them 4) wants me to help him rearrange the garage again!!!….i get about 1000 words a day written…on my blackberry…whether I want to write or not!

  2. catconnor says:

    Unless I have given myself a day off (mental health day or sick day) I write every day. It’s my job. And like every job some days I don’t wanna do it. But I get on with it.

    I’ve done Nanowrimo for the last three years. Love it. But for me the initial writing is not as much fun as the editing, polishing, tweaking… I know it’s an illness. πŸ™‚ I can knock out the main gist of novel in 30 days (about 75k)- no worries. Then the fun starts.

    πŸ™‚

    Now I to get back to work – let the good times roll. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

