Trying to Edit …and…then…Jenn Aniston called…

Posted: March 20, 2010 in Jennifer Aniston, Uncategorized
Tags: ,

I was sitting in front of the G4 trying like hell to edit.

The phone rang. Damn, I thought I had turned off the ringer.

“Hello,” I said, doing my best to sound in patient.

“Hi, it’s me!” I recognized the voice from awhile back. It was perky. It was always perky.

“Oh, hi.” I said.

“Bad time?”

“Well, I got this deadline and uh…”

“I’m SO sorry. I’ll hang up. Sorry.”

“No, no, it’s okay. What’s goin’ on?” I heard myself say. I looked over to the G4 and my manuscript went to sleep. It made my stomach kind of sour.

“What are you working on–the fourth Duffy, I hope!” she said.

“Actually, I got the first draft of a stand alone done. Duffy makes an appearance but it’s mostly as a cameo.”

“Oh-MY-GOD! You’re kidding, that’s like SO cool!” Sometimes her enthusiasm makes me a little uncomfortable.

“Yeah, yeah, thanks.”

“I know you’re trying to write but what’s it about. Just give me a teaser…” She said.

“Well, you know how we hear about all the military suicides?”

“Yeah…” He breath got short.

“What if they weren’t suicides? What if a corrupt general was making murders look like suicides to cover something up.”

The phone went silent. It stayed that way for what seemed like a long time.

“Are you there?” I said

“That is SO brilliant! Oh, I just can’t wa–you have to go write. I’m sorry. Please go write!” She said.

“Well, actually…”

“No really, go write! It’s good just to hear your voice.”

“Thanks, I suppose I really should,” I said relieved. She really was kind of sweet.

“Okay, then. Talk soon?”

“Sure,” I said.

After that she signed off.

I could get back to work.

Finally.

Comments
  1. Jen Forbus says:

    I think, darlin’, you might want to clean the drool up off the computer. You obviously fell asleep in the middle of those edits…are you working too hard?

  2. […] Trying to Edit …and…then…Jenn Aniston called… « Tom Schreck […]

  3. D.B. Dean says:

    you know – i dont think J. Ainston can take a punch very well at all…or throw one for that matter…i dont know why you spend precious writing space writing about her. But you SHOULD devote time to some female boxers…now that is a post I would love to read about.

Leave a Reply

